Hey neighbors, we are the Peacock family.  I’m Natasha but a lot of people call me Tasha, my husband is Will who I call “Big Willy,” my older son is Isaac (19) who lives in Utah and our youngest son is William (6), Please don’t mind the “quarantine” hair.

Will and I first met in Salt Lake City, Utah which is where I’m from originally.  Will works in transit systems engineering and construction management where he was working on a project in Utah. We met in 2009 while out with some friends at a club (no judgment).  We eventually went out to dinner and shortly after the relationship blossomed. However, all good things must come to an end and Will’s job was completed in Utah and had to transfer to California.  So, we made the decision to move to L.A. in 2011. Ohh my goodness, we loved California!! We lived in San Fernando Valley which is also known as the “Valley” and about 20 miles north of L.A. We lived in California for about 3 years. During that time we got married on June 1, 2013, in Salt Lake City, Utah. Shortly after, I got pregnant with our handsome little boy named William who was born in 2014.

During this time, I decided to go back to school. Again, Will’s job was complete and got transferred to Arizona. So, we moved to Phoenix, Arizona and purchased our first home in 2014.  Honestly, we loved Arizona and plan to return back there when the opportunity arises—it was one of our favorite spots. In the midst of all this moving, I continued with my education and was blessed to get my Masters Degree in Social Work from Arizona State University (ASU)—Go Sun Devils!  Will had already relocated to Georgia in 2017 and was working on another project while little William and I remained in Arizona. Once I graduated from ASU, little William and I would move to Georgia so we could all be together. During a visit to Georgia we had to find a house in one week (crazy, I know).  We accomplished it in two days before we had to fly back to Arizona. Will is an electrical engineer who graduated from the University of Texas Arlington which has blessed him to travel to different states and meet new people. Will is currently working on the Marta project in downtown Atlanta and I was fortunate enough to get a job at Northside Hospital Gwinnett and have been with the company for about a year and a half in their Coordinated Care department as a social worker.

One of the things that Will and I value is family and being there for one another.  We both have large families that come from rich cultures who share similar traditions.  My family is from the Navajo Nation which is the American Indian territory that covers Utah, Colorado, Arizona, and New Mexico.  Will is from The Gambia, West Africa which is a beautiful country alongside the Atlantic coast. One of our best trips was celebrating Christmas in The Gambia with Will’s family.  We were also privileged enough to celebrate New Years in London, England with Wills sisters. We try to go on a family vacation every year whether it be somewhere new or going back west to visit family in Utah.

As a family, we love to travel and make new memories, whether it be family vacations, mini staycations or explore nearby cities.  Plus, we’re all “foodies” and love to try new and different spots and we have our favorite “go-to” restaurants if we can’t make a decision. In addition to traveling and eating, we also like to go watch movies either in theaters or at home on the weekends while eating “old school” popcorn that is cooked over the stovetop.  One of our favorite things to do is have family and friends come over for barbeques and/or dinners. When we first moved into our home in Lawrenceville, I went to our neighbor’s homes, introduced myself and invited everyone over for a barbeque.

Another way I tried to get involved in the community is by volunteering with the American Red Cross.  At first, I would donate blood and platelets but later got involved in their Disaster Relief & Recovery Services program where we assist families who recently went through a traumatic experience such as a home fire or floods. We would go to the homes, assist financially and provide resources.

We go to C3 church in Lawrenceville  where we’ve joined small groups in order for us to get to know the community and meet like-minded people.  Plus I serve in the children’s ministries and work with children aged 5-6.

William goes to Sola Fide Lutheran Academy which he loves!! He has two amazing teachers Mrs. Kober and Mrs. Lapp who have shown our child nothing but love and tolerance.  William is also a brown belt in Karate and has been doing it since 2018. He’s also active in sports such as basketball and was currently playing soccer until we were placed on “lockdown.” He plans to resume when possible.

We live in Flowers Crossing at the Mill which is directly across the street from Alexander park.  We moved into our home in July 2018 and have fallen in love with it. It’s a very appealing neighborhood and we’ve met many great people. This community is wonderful and we enjoy the fact that they hold many community functions so everyone can get to know one another.  It’s a very tight-knit community where they have social media sites where one can get resources, referrals, or online selling. Everyone in the community has been very friendly and has shown us that delightful “southern hospitality” you hear about. Honestly, we really enjoy the neighborhood and have built some great relationships with our neighbors. It was truly a godsend that we found this home on such short notice.

Our Family Motto is  “Stay Humble, Stay Focused, Stay Blessed,” which happens to be on a letter board in our kitchen and seems to fit us perfectly.